Silly Fool

Being a teenager is a contradiction.

You’re old enough to drive yourself to dentist appointments and get yourself up in the morning but you aren’t allowed to stay out past 10: 30 pm? You’re allowed to use a stove and fundraise hundreds of dollars but can’t legally excuse yourself from school?

I have to make decisions about the rest of my life, my career, my happiness, and one wrong move could screw it all up but I find I still get really excited over finally eating the leftovers in the fridge I have been dreaming about all day. I am so ready to live on my own but shudder when I think about paying bills or sleeping in a house by myself.

I want to go to college but don’t really want another four years of homework and no sleep.  I had a dream the other night that I moved away and when my parents had gotten me settled in my new apartment all the way on the other side of the country and then left, I remember waking up in a cold sweat and being relieved they were still upstairs and I had some time left.

Time, you silly fool. I hate you.

from the world of the not-so-ordinary,

Maggie

Leave a Reply

