The Pound

I love to help. I’m just that kind of person.  When I was in fifth grade I once went and screamed at sixteen other kids for destroying someones elses snow fort.

Anyway that’s not the story. Today we went to the pound to donate a dog bed and some other stuff like that. I usually will do that since they wont let me volunteer there. The one rule I have for myself is that I cannot go into the back where all of the dogs and cats are because there are always so many animals that don’t have homes and families and I’ll start crying. Today my sister wanted to go to the back and see the puppies and I tried to say that I wanted to stay in the front but everyone else said to just go see and then I could leave, so that’s what I did, or rather tried to do. I walked through the door and heard barking and looked at all of the animals and bit my lip to stop myself but it didn’t work. I cried and I don’t mean that I just cried a few tears and got over it, I mean I cried so hard that three different ladies came into the room with tissues and started trying to hug me and calm me down.

There was one dog in particular (well she was actually a puppy) that I just fell in love with, so I looked at her name and what day she had got there, I knew I wasn’t getting a dog but I just wanted to see. I probably should not have looked because she has almost been there two weeks. This wouldn’t be a big deal except that they put the animals down if they’ve been there for longer than two weeks. This is when I lost it; I cried for an hour and a half straight and all day long since then I’ve been crying off and on.

The second I got home I looked up how much it was to adopt the dog, It was over a hundred dollars and it turns out all I have is thirty-two dollars. Right after that I called Maggie and asked if she wanted to help me, unfortunately her savings is smaller than mine is but we’re going to come up with a plan, and look for a job, and I think that Maggie and I will be able to help her.

from the world of the not-so-ordinary,

Joey

IMG_20121127_212725

Leave a Reply

